Naxal Resistance

This blog is a mirror site of

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Blog Stats

    • 80,491 hits
  • Top Posts

  • Advertisements


Posted by Indian Vanguard on August 21, 2007

Maoists form committees for ethnic-based states

POST REPORT KATHMANDU, Aug 16 – The CPN-Maoist has formed separate committees for eight different ethnic-based ‘states’ under a federal structure for the country. The party’s central committee meeting that concluded Wednesday, formed committees for the Seti-Mahakali, Tharuwan, Bheri-Karnali, Magarat, Tamuwan, Tambashaling, Newa and Madhes states. The Seti-Mahakali state committee is headed by Kul Prasad KC ‘Sonam’ and covers Darchula, Baitadi, Dadeldhura, Bajhang, Achham and Doti. Similarly, Tharuwan state committee is headed by Shakti Basnet ‘Suresh’, and covers Dang, Banke, Bardia, Kailai and Kanchanpur. Khadka Bahadur Biswokarma ‘Prakand’ heads the committee for the Bheri-Karnali state, which includes Humla, Jumla, Mugu, Kalikot, Dolpa, Jajarkot, Dailekh and Surkhet. Likewise, Rukum, Rolpa, Salyan, Pyuthan, Arghakhanchi, Gulmi, Baglung, Myagdi and Mustang districts are in the Magarat state and the committee is headed by Hemanta Bikram Oli ‘Sudarsan’. Tamuwan state committee is headed by Hitraj Pandey, and covers all the districts in Gandaki and Parbat of Dhaulagiri zone. Tambashaling state committee, headed by Kanchan Sapkota ‘Kanchan’ covers Chitwan, Makwanpur, Sindhuli, Ramechhap, Dolakha, Sindhupalchowk, Kavre, Rasuwa, Nuwakot and Dhading. Hitman Shakya ‘Suman’ heads the Newa state committee, which covers Kathmandu, Lalitpur and Bhaktapur. Post Bahadur Bogati ‘Diwakar’ heads the Madhes state committee which covers all the districts in Mithila, Bhojpura and Abadh regions. The party’s Madhesi leader, Matrika Yadav, who recently resigned as minister, has been given the responsibility of in-charge in a sub committee of the Madhes state. The central committee meeting has also given the responsibility for the party’s youth wing – Young Communist League (YCL) – to the party’s central military bureau which is headed by party chief Prachanda. The meeting dissolved all central commands and regional organizations and replaced them with five central bureaus.

The meeting also formed a five-member commission under party central leader Dev Gurung. The State Re-structuring Recommendation Commission (SRRC) which comprises Matrika Yadav, Hitman Shakya, Lekhraj Bhatta, Gopal Kirati andDev Gurung has been mandated to make a ‘scientific demarcation’ of the seven states and submit its report to the party in three months.

The meeting also decided to launch movements in a coordinated manner for a republic and proportional election system to ensure free and fair Constituent Assembly polls.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: